ANCIENTS detail their debut album

1 min read

ANCIENTS have revealed details to their debut album “Star Showers on the Euphrates”, due out on July 16th.

From a press release:

After the demise of UK metal underground’s much-loved Rinoa — fans of epic, heavy music were left with a gaping hole in their universe. Fortunately, news of the split was quickly followed by an announcement that core Rinoa members would be moving ahead with a new project to take Rinoa’s grand vision to a colossal new chapter.

Joined by Mehdi Safa (of *shels and Mahumodo) on vocals and Crydebris drummer Daniel Hoang, the transatlantic quintet got to work on writing and recording their first single “Constellations”, which landed in Sept 2011 and sold out within a few days. Nearly 6 months of writing and producing later and ANCIENTS are set to unleash their debut full-length “Star Showers Over the Euphrates” through Shelsmusic. Fittingly packed full of Epic titles such as ‘Constellations’, ‘Icarus’, ‘Cassiopeia’ and more, it is quickly evident, even in the opening chapters of this debut, Ancients have created something truly monumental here.

“Epic” would be an understatement for this – everything about this record is Huge. Including the production, which was tracked by Jonny Renshaw (Devil Sold His Soul) in the UK, and mixed and mastered by Safa (*shels, Ancients, Mahumodo) at Shelsmusic Studios in California. Songs unravel patiently, and then explode into what feels like the soundtrack to the birth of the universe.

It’s clear that ANCIENTS have not only retained the emotion and blistering power of all their past and present incarnations, but have also refined, transcended and perfected the art of making heavy, emotional music. But, this is more than just “heavy”, this is colossal, delicate and beautiful. Giant slabs of distorted guitar merge seamlessly with soaring vocals that beam like sirens of light — the level of energy and emotion delivered is almost overwhelming.

This isn’t just an album — this is a mission statement by a band that are out to reshape music as we know it. ANCIENTS have arrived!

Track listing:
1. Admiral Angry
2. Ancients
3. Black Sheep Wall
4. Brother/Ghost
5. Down I Go
6. Ef
7. Kopek
8. Latitudes
9. Mahumodo
10. Parliament of Owls
11. Pretend
12. Sons of Noel and Adrian
13. The Ascent of Everest



Previous Story

BURNING LOVE to release their new EP in two weeks

Next Story

OFF! stream new song off their upcoming self-titled record