DEATH premieres a live track, readying a gigantic box set

1 min read

Death metal legends DEATH have premiered a live version of their song “Zero Tolerance” from their upcoming live album “Vivus!”. The band is also readying a gigantic box set of 14 discs, to be released via Relapse Records.

The joint features 2 DEATH shows from 1998 – Whisky A Go Go in Hollywood, California and Dynamo Open Air in Eindhoven, Holland. The album is due out February 28 in North America, March 2 in the Benelux and Germany, and March 5 in Europe.

Listen to the track here.


Here’s the official description:

‘Vivus!’ captures two stunning full concerts of the final lineup of metal pioneers Death in one deluxe double-cd package. Disc One features the band at the height of their prowess tearing the roof off of the infamous Whisky A Go-Go in Los Angeles while Disc Two is a brilliant recording of the band on the festival stage at Dynamo Open Air. Stacked with brand new liner notes from Death drummer Richard Christy and the band’s long-time manager Eric Greif as well as newly unearthed photos of the band, ‘Vivus!’ is more than just an artifact from one of heavy-metal’s true legends, it is pair of discs that sit confidently next to Death’s untouchable catalog of albums.

“Vivus!” track listing:

Disc 1 – Live In Hollywood (1998)
01. The Philosopher
02. Spirit Crusher
03. Trapped In A Corner
04. Scavenger Of Human Sorrow
05. Crystal Mountain
06. Flesh And The Power It Holds
07. Zero Tolerance
08. Zombie Ritual
09. Suicide Machine
10. Together As One
11. Empty Words
12. Symbolic
13. Pull The Plug

Disc 2 – Live In Eindhoven (1998)
01. The Philosopher
02. Trapped In A Corner
03. Crystal Mountain
04. Suicide Machine
05. Together As One
06. Zero Tolerance
07. Lack Of Comprehension
08. Flesh And The Power It Holds
09. Flattening Of Emotions
10. Spirit Crusher
11. Pull The Plug

In other news, DEATH will release a gigantic box set of 14 discs:

The GIANT News announcement…kinda got out of hand. Making announcements in this running format is weird because there is then a thread of hundreds of responses (some, about Chuck coming back from the dead, were a bit OTT…but nevermind). I know it isn’t possible to make everyone happy, but we’re trying like hell for the fans. Anyhow, the news is this: Roadrunner has sent me a contract after working on this for well over a year, allowing for Symbolic to be part of a monster DEATH, 14 disc box set on Relapse. Obviously that would allow us to do Symbolic-era bonus material, as well. We could also (obviously) include stuff NOT on the reissues. Looking at 2013 +. If this hadn’t been worked out with RR, it would have only included 6 DEATH albums. So, this is fucking killer news.

A live version of the classic DEATH track “Zero Tolerance” taken from “Vivus!” can be stre

Previous Story

BENEATH THE MASSACRE premiere a new song

Next Story

BOTTOMFEEDER interviewed by AltPress