Please go to your post editor > Post Settings > Post Formats tab below your editor to enter audio URL.

Jazz/Metal Experimentalists UNCONSCIOUS COLLECTIVE To Release New 2XLP Via Tofu Carnage

1 min read

Dallas, TX-based extreme music purveyors Tofu Carnage Records are pleased to announce the imminent release of a self-titled double LP from their hometown’s own ritualistic improv metal/jazz/rock trio, UNCONSCIOUS COLLECTIVE. Due out November 10, 2012, the records will be housed in printed heavyweight jackets with gold foil-stamped graphics, feature original collodion photography by Ginger Berry, and be pressed on 180-gram, milky clear wax at 45rpm for superior sound quality.

The group features members of Akkolyte, Dead to a Dying World, and The Black Dotz and have conjured up a septet of mind-melting experimental jams that’ll have fans of acts as diverse as Meshuggah, John Zorn, Cynic, Mike Patton, Animals As Leaders, Blotted Science, Frank Zappa, Watchtower, and Behold…the Arctopus. They must be heard to be believed!

Witnessing Unconscious Collective live is a voyeuristic act of ritualistic transmogrification, one that transcends the interpersonal though unwavering cries of sacrifice and rebirth, demanding a deeper spirituality and self-awareness. In an arrangement of improvisations and musical compositions, this debut release embodies a parallelled aurora with an ensemble of seven alluring ceremonial jazz-rock hymns.All come from different musical backgrounds (classical training, punk/rock, experimental, and jazz), but they function as a musical unit: throwing sounds around, intuitively putting it all in the right place. Past performances/recording sessions have included guests such as Alvin Fielder, Rodrigo Amado, Carl Smith, Leena Conquest, Omar Alvarado, Chris Parker, and Dennis Gonzalez.
All pre-orders will receive a free DVD of the group including exclusive interviews, artist profiles, and performance footage (check out short teaser for the DVD here:

1. Gemini Croquet (8:10)
2. Tranquilidad Aborotadora (6:51)
3. Cis-Lunar Cloudburst (6:31)
4. Molesting Electric Walter (9:15)
5. Pachydermis Funeralis (14:58)
6. Ink Portraits in the Key of Cephalopod (12:23)
7. Peneteka (7:06)

Personnel: Unconscious Collective is
Gregg Prickett on Guitar,
Aaron Gonzalez on Bass Guitar and Upright Bass
Stefan Gonzalez on Drums and Vibraphone.
Details: Recorded LIVE at Klearlight Studio Spring 2010, Engineered by
Jay Jernigan, Mixed by Jimi Bowman, and Mastered by Carl Saff.
Collidion (cover) photography by Ginger Berry.

Unconscious Collective

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

TIGERS JAW stream new track

Next Story

GRABASS CHARLESTONS stream their new album in full