LIARS to release new album in June

Brooklyn’s LIARS will release their new album on June 5 via Mute Records.

Here’s the official statement:

Liars – Angus Andrew, Aaron Hemphill and Julian Gross – announce the first details of a new album, out on Mute on 4 June 2012, their sixth studio album and follow up to 2010’s critically lauded Sisterworld (The Quietus’ Album of the Year, #9 in the NME’s Albums of the Year who said of the album “…this incredible album is your passport to a better place.”).

Liars will return to Europe for live dates including Field Day – 2 June, and a series of intimate shows, including London’s XOYO – 12 June and Manchester’s Ruby Lounge – 15 June (full list below).

The announcement follows a series of clips which the band uploaded on their Tumblr, which has given rise to much speculation on where this ever evolving, ever influential band were headed.

The new album recording saw the band working more collaboratively than on previous recordings, and began when Angus Andrew and Aaron Hemphill moved into an isolated cabin in the mountains to begin writing.

Recorded in LA, self-produced by the band with additional production from Daniel Miller and mixed by Tom Biller, the album, is hard to shake, tough to pin down, and impossible to get out of one’s head even after an initial listen. Simultaneously the most accessible and most challenging release from these iconoclasts, it is both a summation of Liars’ work up to now, and a complete break from anything you’d ever heard the band do previously.

“If we aren’t confusing people, it’s not us,” Andrew laughs. “If we aren’t confusing ourselves with what we do, then we’ve failed.”

2 June – Field Day, London
7 June – Nouveau Casino, Paris
8 June – Tivoli De Helling, Utrecht
9 June – AB Club, Brussels
10 June – Roter Salon der Volksbühne, Berlin

LIARS live:

“Scissor” video:

To Top