De Press 1981 by KΓ₯re Eide
News Stories

Norwegen/Polish cult new wave band DE PRESS to release legendary albums “Block To Block” and “Product” from the early 80’s!

2 mins read

We are super stoked to announce re-issues of the legendary first two albums from DE PRESS titled Block to Block (1981) and Product (1982). Remastered, and just in time for the 40th anniversary of Block To Block, these albums still sound fresh and original!

A product of the 80’s Block To Block (1981) is the breakthrough and debut album by Noregian/polish new wave cult heroes De Press (Andrej Nebb, Ola Snortheim and JΓΈrn Christensen). Like its sucessor, Product, the album was produced by John Leckie and De Press. Both albums are now being re-released by Apollon Records on vinyl and CD.

What is it about these two records? They still sound like nothing else from the Norwegian music scene. Both albums were on par with anything from the wider world, and this in a time were international New Wave and Post Punk classics were released on an almost weekly basis. They encapsulate the sound of an entire era and may mirror the contemporary zeitgeist of its time so brilliantly that we still see ourselves in them.

Block To Block is widely regarded to be one of the best ever rock albums by a Norwegian band. The 40th anniversary re-mastered edition will be available as a limited edition 500 on white and red vinyl.

A product of the 80’s Product (1982) was the sequel to Block To Block. Like its predecessor, Product was produced by John Leckie and De Press.

If its predecessor was the party before the proverbial bomb goes off, their sophomore album Product was the sound of the seconds leading up to the explosion. It sounds exciting and full of vitalityβ€”and fascinatingly dangerous. Like a Polish-Norwegian Joy Division from the underground of some forsaken city. Just listen to the intensity of songs like The Fatal Day, Passages, In A Crowded Room, and the title cut. The re-mastered edition will be available as a limited edition 500 on white and red vinyl.

Below links and a PRESS DOWNLOAD. Please use the new album for reviews + airplay. Support independent artists and labels. Thank you very much!


1. The Fatal Day
2. In a Position To Know
3. Passages
4. In a Crowded Room
5. Signals
6. Product
7. Other Man’s Sin
8. Heaven
9. Total Corruption
10. Swienty Pokoj

Please consider donating to IDIOTEQ to keep this magazine going

πŸ’‰ With no-ads policy and mission to give independent artists space they deserve, IDIOTEQ is a place to get inspired, learn more about lesser known artists and their perspective. Reporting on DIY music is our priority.

π–―π—…π–Ύπ–Ίπ—Œπ–Ύ π–Όπ—ˆπ—‡π—Œπ—‚π–½π–Ύπ—‹ π–½π—ˆπ—‡π–Ίπ—π—‚π—‡π—€ π—π—ˆ 𝗁𝖾𝗅𝗉 𝗐𝗂𝗍𝗁 π–Όπ—ˆπ—π–Ύπ—‹π—‚π—‡π—€ π—ˆπ—Žπ—‹ π–Όπ—ˆπ—Œπ—π—Œ 𝖺𝗇𝖽 𝗄𝖾𝖾𝗉 π—π—π—‚π—Œ π—‰π—‹π—ˆπ—ƒπ–Ύπ–Όπ— 𝖺𝗅𝗂𝗏𝖾

DONATE via PayPal π—ˆπ—‹ SUPPORT via Patreon

Become a Patron!

100% of the funds collected go toward maintaining and improving this magazine. Every contribution, however big or small, is super valuable.

Previous Story

New reissue of NYHC classics: Urban Waste & Antidote coming up on Pine Hill Records

Next Story

Vagrant Records: 25 Years on the Streets Podcast Episode 1 Out Now; new reissues available