News Stories

PROPHETS OF RAGE unveil more details; first show played! [UPDATE]

1 min read

A few weeks after the initial teaser, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE’s Tom Morello, Tim Commerford, and Brad Wilk have announced the details of their new collaboration with Chuck D and DJ Lord from PUBLIC ENEMY and B-Real from CYPRESS HLL! The band played their first gig yesterday at the Whiskey A Go Go venue in Los Angeles, which served as a benefit for the homeless-aid charity P.A.T.H. Watch some of the first amateutr videos below.

Morello commented:

“Dangerous times do demand dangerous songs. This historical moment is really unprecedented. Both the country and the world are on the brink of the abyss. And, we thought it was wholly irresponsible of us to be sitting on the sidelines when we have a catalog of material like we do between the three of us to go out and fight the power, to take the power back, to bring the noise, to rise up, to use four songs that we may or not be playing tonight.”

UPDATE: The band is playing another show on Friday, June 3 @ 8:30pm at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles, CA. Tickets on sale at The Hollywood Palladium box office on Thursday June 2 at 10AM PT / No line-ups prior to 8AM. Just like the firt gig, proceeds from the evening will be donated to P.A.T.H. (People Assisting The Homeless).

Watch PROPHETS OF RAGE live in-studio with The Kevin & Bean Show at KROQ:

Prophets Of Rage combines the sonic firepower of Rage Against The Machine, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill. We can no longer stand on the sidelines of history. Dangerous times demand dangerous songs. It’s time to take the power back. It’s time to make America RAGE again.


The band performed the following songs:

Prophets of Rage (Public Enemy)
Guerilla Radio (Rage Against The Machine)
Bombtrack (RATM)
Miuzi Weighs A Ton (PE)
People of the Sun (RATM)
Rock Superstar (Cypress Hill)
Testify (RATM)
CH/PE Medley (“Shoot Em Up” > “Can’t Trust It” > “Insane In the Membrane” > “Bring The Noise” > “I Ain’t Going Out Like That” > “Welcome To The Terrordome”)
Sleep Now In The Fire (RATM)
New Song (probably called “Shut Them Down”)
Know Your Enemy (RATM)
The Party’s Over (Prophets of Rage)
No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn/Fight The Power (Beastie Boys/Public Enemy)
Bulls On Parade (RATM)
Killing in The Name (RATM)

See more details and more official commentaries from the band members at this location.

First live videos documenting the show:

Previous Story

Walter Schreifels Announces new record!

Next Story

GUTTERMOUTH release new music this Summer! New song streaming now!