Exclusive Streams

Alt punk rocker TURNPIKE GATES premieres new video for catchy single “Seasick”

TURNPIKE GATES, which released “Seasick” earlier this month, unveiled a video for the catchy new single today. It’s the first release from the forthcoming Turnpike Gates record — a 5-song EP produced by Pete Steinkopf (The Bouncing Souls, Beach Rats), which will be available on vinyl and across all digital platforms starting July 2.

Turnpike Gates is Philadelphia-bred / Jersey City-based songwriter Ryan Smith. On “Seasick”, Ryan laments the current state of city living with an infectious melody that features backing vocals from Jared Hart (Mercy Union, The Scandals), and is rounded out by stellar performances from Kristin Hutchinson on piano, Jimmy Walsh (Rest Easy, Shook Ones) on drums, and Armand Gerbach (Stellarbelly) on bass.

Ryan began writing songs as a teen in Philadelphia, where he formed a little-known, but locally influential band known as Boundless. He was a staple of the city’s music scene with several bands through 2010, when he relocated to Jersey City. In 2016, Ryan began recording songs for his first solo project, which would become known as Turnpike Gates.

Turnpike Gates

“City In Heat” is the follow-up to the debut Turnpike Gates record, which was self-released at the end of 2018, and well-received locally (including being listed as one of the year’s best records by NJ.com and Jersey Beat), leading to a string of live performances that included a 2019 appearance at The Stone Pony in support of The Flaming Lips and The Claypool Lennon Delirium.

Turnpike Gates‘ EP ‘City In Heat’ will be released on Friday, July 2, and can be pre-ordered here.

Follow our punk rock playlist:

Melodic PUNK // IDIOTEQ.com Spotify Playlist

To Top