The True Faith by Matheus Nogueira
New Music

Boston’s THE TRUE FAITH shares “Before Now,” the fourth, and final single from forthcoming Go To Ground LP

1 min read

Boston’s THE TRUE FAITH have released the fourth, and final, single from their forthcoming LP, Go To Ground, which sees release via à La Carte Records (Lesser Care, Don’t Get Lemon) on January 10, 2023. “Before Now” premiered via New Noise Magazine. The single is paired with a b-side remix from House of Harm. Listen to both tracks below.

Private stream of Go To Ground for review, airplay and feature consideration here. Downloads available upon request.

The True Faith consists of core members Travis Benson (vocals/guitar), Quentin Moyer (guitar) and Dylan Kotliar (bass). The band started as a solo project by Travis when he released the self-titled demo cassette, which was a darker minimal synth/industrial type sound. The demo caught the attention of à La Carte Records who approached them to release an album on the new label.

Benson recruited friend Quentin Moyer to play guitar on their debut EP, As Much Nothing As Possible, shifting towards more of a classic synth-pop sound. After the release of the EP, they began working on their first full-length album, They Can Always Hurt You More. The True Faith added Dylan Kotliar on bass during this time and had Tom Weir (from Old Moon) play drums. During the writing sessions for the album, they released two of the tracks originally intended for the LP as a 7″ (Leucovorin Rescue b/w What is Owed 7″ on à La Carte Records) and an additional song, “Giving Up,” was released as an exclusive track on a compilation for music outlet Destroy//Exist. The True Faith released They Can Always Hurt You More through à La Carte Records and went on an east coast tour with Doused.

Currently, the band also includes Nauman Javed on drums and Francisco Ilabaca on synth.

Go To Ground is slated for release, in vinyl and CD editions, via the DIY label/collective à La Carte Records. The U.S. version of the CD will come with an exclusive demo track that won’t be available anywhere else. Paris-based label Icy Cold Records will be releasing a Euro version of the CD that will come with its own exclusive treat. They will also be carrying copies of the vinyl for those who wish to save on international shipping costs. The band has worked with three tape-focused labels around the world to create a cassette collection with U.S., European, and Australian variations from Candlepin Records, Summer Darling Tapes, and Honeyglider Records respectively.

Previous Story


Next Story

Krump dancer Dexter stars in new music video from French experimentalists KLYMT