New Music

“Our Love Is Different” – GRIEVER streaming their new LP in full!

1 min read

Vitriol Records is the celebrated, Los Angeles-based label owned by Justin Smith of GRAF ORLOCK, GHOSTLIMB, and DANGERS. Through Vitriol, Smith has released music by all his own bands as well as THOU, BIRDS IN ROW, COMADRE, and more, and has adorned it with some of the coolest art and packaging of this millennium. The Vitriol brand has come to represent the progression of hardcore punk, fueled by an obsessive DIY ethic and antagonistic spirit. From San Diego, GRIEVER features vocalist/guitarist Alex Jacobelli and drummer Cory Groenenberg, both members of former Deathwish Inc hardcore punkers LEWD ACTS.

In Griever, Jacobelli belts out world-weary gruffness and lights up the skies with radiant guitars, while Groenenberg drives forward, steady and straight as a tunnel-borer. Along with guitarist guitarist Orlando Ramirez and bassist Wes Sisk, they pound out an impassioned racket – a heavy, rock-solid version of post-hardcore that pummels and uplifts, equally – inspired by the melodic sludge of the Melvins-Karp-Floor-Torche circle as well as the garage punk scene epitomized by hometown San Diego label Swami Records (Hot Snakes, et al.)

Our Love Is Different was recorded by Tommy Garcia and Alex Jacobelli at SDRL and Thrill Me Studios, and mixed by Jacobelli at Thrill Me. The album was mastered by Nick Zampiello (Converge, Coliseum) at New Alliance.

Our Love Is Different follows 2011′s Inferior EP, also on Vitriol, and a 3-way split with VYGR and At Our Heels, on Creator-Destructor Records.

The tracklist is as follows:
1) A Somber Psalm
2) Malice
3) The Tie That Grinds
4) Hell in Heel
5) Our Love Is Different
6) Decline of the West
7) The Endless Wall
8) King of Ash
9) A Hymn of Horror

GRIEVER on tour:

Feb 27 – San Dioego, CA @ Soda Bar w/Ghostlimb
Feb 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ TBD w/ Ghostlimb, Dangers

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

WHENSKIESAREGRAY release new track called “Renoir, 1920”! [UDPATE]

Next Story

GET A GRIP – “Equals” song premiere!