Music Videos

Math-rocking metalheads DEAD EMPIRES peremiere new video “Slay Rider”

1 min read

Silent Pendulum Records announces the February 23rd, 2018 release of DEAD EMPIRES’ new album, Designed to Disappear. Known as an instrumental band, DEAD EMPIRES deal in a heavy-rocking brand of metal that veers toward the exuberant. On Designed to Disappear, they debut new vocalist and knob-twiddler Jason Sherman of prog-death freaks Torrential Downpour; Sherman adds a whole new layer of darkness and danger to the sound, via his wide range of voices and his palette of electronics/noise. Metal Injection has premiered the video for the song “Slay Rider” from Designed to Disappear – it’s a charging, soaring jam, laced with extreme-metal darkness. Watch here, or above.

Designed to Disappear was recorded and mixed by Scot Moriarty at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey. It was mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music (Mastodon, Every Time I Die). The album radiates color and texture: Sherman’s vocals jump from deathly growls to soulful clean vocals; guitarist John Bryan’s fingers bleed rock n’ roll twang as well as metal shred; bassist DJ Scully (also a member of The Number Twelve Looks Like You and Black Table) commands with a massive, distorted tone; drummer Phil Bartsch blasts and grooves seamlessly.

Founded in the Hudson Valley of New York in 2009, Dead Empires began with 2010’s Monuments EP and followed it up with Waiting in Waves (2012) and Secret Snakes/Silent Serpent (2015). Third full-length Designed to Disappear sees the band reinvented with the arrival of new frontman Sherman, and is a must for fans of Mastodon’s rock majesty as well as The Dillinger Escape Plan’s radical gear-shifting.

The album art was created by Revolution Dream Design.


Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

“People Without Faces” – Polish gloomy hardcore band NEW VISION release new EP & music video

Next Story

DEAD HEAVENS premiere “Adderall Highway” video