New Music

Melodic skate punk rockers MUCH THE SAME return with new LP!

1 min read

Chicago skate-punks MUCH THE SAME return with their first single in 13 years! ‘Everything Is Fine celebrates the band’s 20th year anniversary and you can grab it now via Lockjaw Records (UK/EU), Thousand Islands Records (CA) and Pee Records (AUS), and hear the full thing below!

This four-piece from Chicago are celebrated in the international skate-punk scene for their classic uptempo 90’s sound, infectious riffs and hooky vocals. Everything Is Fine features 9 belting new tracks, combining more melodic hooks and darker lyrical subjects then the band have explored previously.

The new album comes in the wake of guitarist Dan O’Gorman’s personal struggles with cancer and divorce; a trauma which inspired the band to rekindle their love of punk rock, against all odds.

“It’s the best songwriting we’ve done,” says bassist Franky Tsoukalas. “I think this is how we always worked toward sounding. We’ll never be a shredder band (we’ve tried) and we’ll never be the heaviest or fastest skate punk band. This record is fast paced but also more melody driven than guitar riff driven. There are some straight pop elements but, I think we all like pop music so why not show that?”

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

Philly’s FIXATION drop new track; hit the road

Next Story

Boston heavyweights DEATH BEFORE DISHONOR streaming new EP “Unfinished Business”