New Music

MILES AWAY streaming new song! Pre-orders are up!

2 mins read

As reported earlier this month, Australian modern / melodic hardcore band MILES AWAY is back with a new album! The band has just premiered a new song called “Grateful” and announced Australian tour with BLACKLISTED! See more details below.

The band will be heading back out on the road around Australia and bringing along BLACKLISTED who just released their LP “When People Grow, People Go” for the ride! Tickets are available via


Fri May 8 – Margaret River Footy Club (18+)*
Sat May 9 – Rosemount, Perth (18+)
Sun May 10 – HQ, Leederville (AA)
Wed May 13 – Enigma, Adelaide (Lic/AA)
Thu May 14 – Northcote Social, Melbourne (18+)
Fri May 15 – Red Rattler, Sydney (Lic/AA)
Sat May 16 – Small Ballroom, Newcastle (18+)
Sun May 17 – Upstairs 199, Brisbane (Day AA)
Sun May 17 – Brightside, Brisbane (Night 18+)


A lot can happen in five years. For Miles Away the last five years have been spent growing, learning, touring, loving, celebrating and living. Five years ago, Miles Away released their last full-length album, “Endless Roads” and now they return with a new follow up LP titled, “Tide”.
Proving distance is no divide when it comes to songwriting, now Berlin based guitarist Adam Crowe collaborated electronically with Cam Jose on the song writing and structure for the new album, trading riffs and ideas via email. The process was slow going, not because of their residential locations, but due to a desire to fine tune the song writing process and produce a record they all can be proud of for years to come.

When it came to enlisting help to record, Miles Away, have a myriad of friends from all corners of the globe to call upon with former Defeater drummer Andy Reitz agreeing to lay down drum tracks on the album, while joining the band on bass is Adam’s younger brother Jared Crowe of Perth outfit, The Others.

Together they entered Getaway Studios in Boston with producer Jay Maas during July/August 2014, with the end result then mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

Pitching in on backing vocals are Zach from Bane, Jake from Dreamtigers, Dahei from Japanese band Cleave and renowned Aussie crooner Jamie Hay who put in time with A Death In The Family, Pitfall and Conation.

In the years since their last full length album Miles Away have managed to refine their sound adding subtle new elements that build on the foundations found throughout their extensive back catalogue.
Tracks like “Entitlement” and Port of Call” bring back memories of the bands very first release, the “Make It Count” EP, whilst the song “Grateful” has a real “Rewind, Repeat…” vibe. Other tracks from “Tide” such as “Terra Incognita” and “Mousetraps” would feel right at home upon the bands last full length “Endless Roads”.

Entering their thirteenth year as a band, Miles Away have produced an album that touches on themes such as gratitude and positive growth but also dismay at what they see in the world around today, all with a distinct Australian feel. Vocalist Nick Horsnell’s raw and isolated vocal delivery is once again present, with the band adding more vocal melody into the mix than ever before.

The artwork for “Tide” reflects the bands coastal West Australian roots with a sobering photo based insert brought to life by fellow sandgropers Mike Maxted & Adam Borello, with Tom Sweetman & Dick Smith handling layout duties.

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

Math rock / post rock act GRAND DÉTOUR teasing their new album “Tripalium”!

Next Story

Yay! RAINMAKER / ​ØJNE split streaming!