PAIN OF TRUTH by Scott Mao
PAIN OF TRUTH by Scott Mao
New Music

PAIN OF TRUTH announce “Not Through Blood” LP, “Actin’ Up” streaming, tour coming up

2 mins read

From the bubbling crucible of the Northeast USA’s hardcore scene, a serious sonic force is shaping up to unleash a long awaited debut album. Pain of Truth, a ruthless pack known for their heady blend of aggressive riffs and punchy, rap hardcore energy, and in-your-face vocals, have recently announced their inaugural long player “Not Through Blood“. Slated for a September 8th, 2023 release via DAZE, the buzz for this new arrival in the hardcore scene is palpable.

The first track, “Actin’ Up“, featuring a collaboration with the grimy Cleveland death metal outfit, 200 Stab Wounds, with its succinct 02:23 minute duration, wastes no time in showcasing what Pain of Truth is all about – a raw, relentless surge of energy that spares no prisoners. Drawing from the visceral power of traditional metallic hardcore, yet weaving in subtly discernable rap influences, “Actin’ Up” sets an audacious tone for the upcoming album.

Emerging from Long Island, NY, hardcore act Pain Of Truth have swiftly carved out a name for themselves as one of the most invigorating hardcore groups of this decade, with their electrifying live performances and potent lyrical content.

Their new offering follows their 2020 EP, No Blame…Just Facts, and a split with Age Of Apocalypse in 2021, both of which have set the stage for their debut full-length album to showcase the band at their most aggressive and precise yet. Staying true to their ethos of community engagement, Pain Of Truth’s previous EP included six guest vocalists, while Not Through Blood ups the ante with an astounding thirteen guest contributions. This extensive list features notable names such as Freddy Cricien of Madball, Scott Vogel of Terror, Justice Tripp of Trapped Under Ice, Vinnie Caruana of The Movielife, Jay Peta of Mindforce, and Brendan Garrone of Incendiary.

Not Through Blood Tracklist:

1. Lifeless On The Ground feat Anthony Didio and Jon Lhaubouet (
2. In Your Heart feat Scott Vogel (Terror)
3. Actin’ Up feat Steve Buhl (200 Stab Wounds)
4. You and Me feat Freddy Cricien (Madball)
5. This Falls On You feat Shane Moran (Bad Seed / Title Fight)
6. Too Late feat Justice Tripp (Trapped Under Ice / Angel Du$t)
7. Pickin’ at Scraps feat Jay Peta (Mindforce) and Austin Sparkman (Buried Dreams / Haywire)
8. Out Of Our Hands feat Vinnie Caruana (The Movielife / I Am The Avalanche)
9. Same Old Story (Instrumental)
10. Under My Skin feat Josiah Hoeflinger (Criminal Instinct)
11. Not Through Blood feat Brendan Garrone (Incendiary) and Corin (Last Wishes)

The album’s debut single, “Actin’ Up,” is a hard-hitting critique of pretenders in the scene. The track opens with ferocious guitar work, setting the stage for Michael Smith’s unabashedly candid vocals, later complemented by the guttural growls of Steve Buhl from 200 Stab Wounds.

Adding a touch of the professional to this raucous mix, the album is graced with the masterful craftsmanship of Andy at Bricktop on recording and mixing duties, while Bill at Azimuth applies his touch to the mastering. This marriage of heavy hardcore intensity with refined production brings a tantalizing dimension to Pain of Truth’s forthcoming LP on DAZE label.

Pain of Truth has never been about half-measures. Their style encapsulates an audacious ‘take-no-prisoners’ attitude, reflecting the urgency and angst of the hardcore genre, while their flirtation with rap elements adds an unconventional layer to their sound.

On June 22nd, Pain Of Truth embarks on a European tour alongside No Pressure, Sunami, Restraining Order, and C4. The tour includes performances at Outbreak Fest, Jera On Air, and Ieper Fest.

They will also grace the stage at Los Angeles’ Sound and Fury Festival in July and Philly’s This Is Hardcore in August, with more dates to be announced.

Tour Dates: with No Pressure, Sunami, Restraining Order, C4

6/22 – London UK @ Oslo
6/23 – Manchester UK @ Outbreak Fest
6/24 – Ysselstein NL @ Jera On Air
6/25 – Hamburg DE @ Booze Cruise
6/26 – Karlsruhe DE @ Stadtmitte
6/27 – Zurich CH @ Dynamo
6/28 – Padova IT @ Sherwood Festival
6/29 – Milan IT @ Legend Club
6/30 – Munchen DE @ Desi


7/1 – Germany @ TBA
7/2 – Vienna AT @ Arena
7/3 – Budapest HU @ Durer Kert
7/4 – Warsaw PL @ Hydrozagadka
7/5 – Berlin DE @ Cassiopeia
7/6 – Erfurt DE @ Veb Kultur
7/7 – Dresden DE @ Chemiefabrik
7/8 – Mönchengladbach DE @ Projekt 42
7/9 – Ypres BE @ Ieper Fest


7/29 – 7/30 – Los Angeles CA @ Sound and Fury Fest
8/6 – Philadelphia PA @ This Is Hardcore Fest

Pain of Truth comprises Michael Smith (vocals), Nik Hansen (guitar), Ridge Rhine (guitar), Zach Stache (bass), and Nick Barker (drums).

Previous Story

Soundscapes in Ink: Exploring the skin canvas of Denis from Belarusian-Polish screamo act SON OF DENI

Next Story

Slowdive returns with poignant release, ‘everything is alive’ – “kisses” streaming