News Stories

SOFY MAJOR: French Metallic Noise Rockers Complete Third LP

1 min read

From the post-industrial wilderness of Clermont-Ferrand, France’s violently addictive hardcore-soaked noise rock outfit, SOFY MAJOR, has confirmed the completion of their third LP, and this week disclose the release details for the anxiously awaited Waste as the band prepares to perform at the massive Hellfest gathering in their native country this weekend.

The construction of SOFY MAJOR’s Waste LP was handled by nearly the same cohorts as their preceding sophomore album, Idolize, yet under radically different circumstances. While the band traveled from France to Brooklyn, New York in October 2012 to record with Andrew Schneider at Translator Audio (Unsane, Keelhaul, Cave In), Hurricane Sandy waged war on the region, the immense storm surge demolishing the entire studio and all of the band’s gear. Cohort and labelmate Dave Curran (Unsane, Pigs) helped Schneider and the band relocate to Brooklyn’s Seaside Lounge and Spaceman Sound studios and complete the recording sessions Sandy attempted to thwart.

Now comes forth the band’s third album, Waste. With just under forty-two minutes of new material, Waste undoubtedly sees SOFY MAJOR charting new boundaries, and at a more relaxed pace. While not shying away from their rampant outbursts completely, the raging appears more subdued, with slightly more melodious sensibilities enveloping its delivery. The grimy Unsane/Harvey Milk/Hammerhead-influenced Big-Muff sonic core of the band’s delivery is here fused to a rocked-out underbelly analogous to the output of Coliseum, Rising, Floor, and the like. Calling once again upon their trusted engineer team, SOFY MAJOR enlisted Dave Curran (Unsane, Pigs, Big Business) to produce Waste, this time on home turf to avoid hurricanes, recording the album at Black Box Studio in France. The output was then mixed by Andrew Schneider (Pigs, Julie Christmas, Unsane) at Translator Audio in Brooklyn and mastered by Carl Saff at Saff Mastering.

With a barrage of major touring to take place over the coming months around the release of Waste, SOFY MAJOR will raid France’s massive Hellfest for the first time this weekend, set to perform at The Valley this Sunday, June 21st alongside Superjoint Ritual, Saint Vitus, Life Of Agony, Eyehategod, Weedeater, Russian Circles and more.

The track listing for the Waste LP, as well as its cover art created by Gerald Jay, have been issued well ahead of the album’s destined release date of October 29th through Solar Flare Records, home to Pigs, American Heritage, Fashion Week, Watertank, The Great Sabatini and more, the label owned and operated by SOFY MAJOR bassist/vocalist Mathieu Moulin.


1. Waste
2. We See Fire
3. Turning Point
4. Slow Everywhere
5. Infinite Pill Case
6. Black and Table
7. Iron Butt
8. Devotion Man
9. As Happy As*
* Les Thugs cover
Photo by Arbre.

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

UNHOLY MAJESTY and IN TONGUES sign with Carry The Weight Records!

Next Story

Future Wave band THE FANTASTIC PLASTICS sign with punk label Altercation Records!