THE LOCUST to release a compilation album next month [UPDATE]

2 mins read

THE LOCUST are going to release a 44 track collection of rare and out of print material from their early years on July 24th, under title of “Molecular Genetics from the Gold Standard Labs“.


Anti-Records commented:

The Locust July 31st Anti-Records release Molecular Genetics From the Gold Standard Labs features 44 tracks of hard-to-find and out-of-print material from the early years of the legendary band. The San Diego group has been blowing minds since 1994 with their unique mix of grindcore speed and aggression, mathcore complexity, and new wave weirdness.

The band’s membership has proved a veritable “Who’s Who” of punk royalty. Joseph Karam also plays with One Day As A Lion while Justin Pearson was in Some Girls, All Leather and played on the recent Retox album with Gabe Serbian. Past participants have included Tristeza/Album Leaf/GoGoGo Airheart/Crimson Curse’s Jimmy LaValle, to Tarantula Hawk’s Dave Warshaw and Dylan Scharf, and Cattle Decapitation’s David Astor. In the process they have created a singular body of work, and an important piece of that appears on Molecular Genetics From the Gold Standard Labs, collecting for the first time all of the band’s pre-Epitaph recordings.

“You hear it in every note they play: The Locust simply love what they do. With Plague Soundscapes, The Locust shot for broken bones and wound up epitomizing “breakneck.” Have you been injured in an accident?” –


The effort will be made available on both vinyl and CD and will include the following tracks:

01 – “How To Become A Virgin
02 – “Who Wants A Dose Of The Clap?
03 – “Twenty-Three Lubed-Up Schizophrenics With Delusions Of Grandeur
04 – “Priest With The Sexually Transmitted Diseases Get Out Of My Bed
05 – “The Half Eaten Sausage Would Like To See You In His Office
06 – “Perils Of Believing In Round Squares
07 – “Flash’s Theme
08 – “Gluing Carpet To Your Genitals Does Not Make You A Cantaloupe
09 – “Turning Your Merchandise Into A Ripped Wall Of Mini-Abs
10 – “Bring Your 6.5 Italian Carbine
11 – “Alas, Here Come The Hypochondriacs To Wait With You In The Lobby
12 – “Siphoning Projectiles During Selective Amnesia
13 – “Flight Of The Wounded Locust
14 – “Get Off The Cross, The Wood Is Needed
15 – “Wet Nurse Syndrome Hand-Me-Down Display Case
16 – “This Is Radio Surgery
17 – “Spitting In The Faces Of Fools As A Source Of Nutrition
18 – “Sever The Toes
19 – “Well I’ll Be A Monkey’s Uncle
20 – “Moth-Eaten Deer Head
21 – “Brand New Set Of Teeth
22 – “How To Build A Pessimistic Lie Detector
23 – “Nice Tranquil Thumb In Mouth
24 – “Dog Without A Collar (Run Over Red Rover)
25 – “Normal Run Of The Muck (Compensation For Conversation)
26 – “Stucco Obelisks Labeled As Trees
27 – “Straight From The Horse’s Mouth
28 – “An Extra Piece Of Dead Meat
29 – “Twenty-Three Full-Time Cowboys
30 – “Backbones Of Jack Asses
31 – “Fixed Companionship, Ghost Town Irrationality
32 – “Skin Graft At Seventy-Five Miles Per Hour
33 – “High-Maintenance Libido, Bring The Whole Family
34 – “Halfway To A Worthless Ideal Arrangement (An Interlude To A Discontinued Sarcastic Harmony… Yea Whatever)
35 – “Kill Roger Hedgecock
36 – “Hairspray Suppository
37 – “Cattle Mutilation
38 – “Prepare To Qualify
39 – “Pain Reliever
40 – “Off By A Long Shot
41 – “#99
42 – “Head Hits Concrete
43 – “Ass Gravity
44 – “Keep Off The Tracks


PUBLISHED on June 14, 2012.
UPDATED on June 20, 2012 – details added.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.

Previous Story

SENSES FAIL stream their compilation album in full

Next Story

LIONS LIONS stream their new album in full