New Music

Cowpunk band WOOD CHICKENS… wait what? Yes! Cowpunk band WOOD CHICKENS release new wild record called “Countrycide”; touring U.S.

WOOD CHICKENS
Weird belnds of styles can be very hit and miss affairs, but this wild country inged mix of bluegrass music, folk punk and jangly rock is full of surprisingly rewarding jams. WOOD CHICKENS name themselves a cowpunk band and they’ve just released their debut record! Just released on Big Neck Records, the record mixes various styles of music, including punk, hardcore, classic country, and psychedelia, often times within a single track. Someone should make a wicked movie to go with it.

WOOD CHICKENS are playing Madison with recently featured band SUPER THIEF tomorrow, so don’t miss out on them if you’re near. The band is currently on tour with Austin, TX punks LECHE. They are also playing several regional shows in August and have another tour coming together for September (see all the dates below).

In other news, they are releasing a split cassette, entitled Mail-Order Cowboyswhich features 2 new original tunes and 2 covers of old-time country standards from each band. The cassette is being released by Texas DIY label Digital Hotdogs. You can listen to Mail-Order Cowboys below.

Photo by Tim Radl

Wood Chickens sold/found/fed their lost souls somewhere at the chaotic crossroads of The Meat Puppets, The Minutemen, Mission of Burma, Camper Van Beethoven, The Country Teasers, Cows and The Cramps. This Madison, WI trio is the absolute fastest, brightest and tightest no-bullshit-punk-band-with-country-leanings you will ever hear. End-of-story. Perpetually on tour and perpetually prolific, the band has spent the last bucket of years touring the US of A continually/relentlessly…and releasing handfuls of limited edition tapes and CD-rs on various indie imprints to keep the fans satiated. Countrycide is the Chicken’s first true to form LP, coming soon on LP/CD formats via Big Neck Records. This record will play nice with yr Gun Club, X, Uncle Tupelo and Dead Moon records…We swear and pinky-promise. Countrycide was recorded blown-out onto 1/4″ tape by myself in my Madison studio, Dead Mast, over the course of 3 months this past summer. We used a Tascam 388 to get this sounding hot n gritty from the get-go…just to make sure it would smoke all sorts of trees, stems, seeds and all. And don’t you worry, this isn’t yr momma or papa’s country-punk/cow-punk/rockabilly band, this is the voice and a choice of a new generation. WELCOME IN THE WOOD CHICKENSCountrycide includes classic Chix faves “Hex On Me”, “Flesh and Blood”, “Angie Hosh”, “Desert Highway” and 10 more cuts of deranged lo-fi country-fried punk! – Bobby Hussy, October 2016

WOOD CHICKENS on tour:

Mon 03 Jul 2017 Mermaid Mansion Wausau, WI, US
Tue 04 Jul 2017 Karl’s Kastle Madison, WI, US
Wed 05 Jul 2017 Quality Beet Michigan City, IN, US
Thu 06 Jul 2017 PJ’s Lager House Detroit, MI, US
Fri 07 Jul 2017 Rupert’s Brew House Kalamazoo, MI, US
Sat 08 Jul 2017 The GTG House Lansing, MI, US
Sun 09 Jul 2017 Bremen Cafe Milwaukee, WI, US
Fri 14 Jul 2017 The Polack Inn Wausau, WI, US
Fri 28 Jul 2017 High Dive Milwaukee, WI, US
Thu 03 Aug 2017 Cracken Cakes Beach Park, IL, US
Sat 05 Aug 2017 Taste of Michigan City 2017 Michigan City, IN, US
Thu 10 Aug 2017 Mickey’s Tavern Madison, WI, US
Fri 11 Aug 2017 Cactus Club Milwaukee, WI, US
Fri 01 Sep 2017 Unknown venue Dubuque, IA, US
Sat 02 Sep 2017 Lefty’s Live Music Des Moines, IA, US
Wed 06 Sep 2017 The Aquarium Fargo, ND, US
Fri 08 Sep 2017 Lyric Room Green Bay, WI, US
Fri 15 Sep 2017 The Mill Iowa City, IA, US
Sat 16 Sep 2017 Mickey’s Tavern Madison, WI, US

Comments
To Top