New Music

Hardcore band DOWNFALL release fiery new LP, Behind The Curtain – listen!

1 min read

DOWNFALL have released their new album, Behind The Curtain, out via DAZE and Triple B Records. Emerging out of the hardcore-heavy Richmond, VA music scene, the band bring plenty of rage on the record. The album was recorded in 2021 with Bob Quirk (Enforced) at Studio F12 and The Ward, mixed by Will Hirst (Gate 4 Studios) and mastered by Bill Henderson (Azimuth Studios).

Across the ten tracks on Behind The Curtain, Downfall gets heavy and personal as they push their creative boundaries into an almost unhinged territory. The fiery album starts with a “Descent” before heading into “Broken Mind” which features absolutely nasty guitar tones. Singles “Scorn” and “Primitive Reality” set the tone for the record with their aggressive vocal delivery and wild breakdowns, the former featuring guest vocals from David Blom of Sanction.

Downfall pulls from a diverse range of influences, citing bands like Pantera and Hatebreed, and that’s readily apparent as the album continues on with “Bloodline” and “Let Me Die”. Steering clear of negative thoughts, challenging your primal rage and mental perseverance are recurring lyrical themes throughout the record. “Confession” taps into this mindset while closer “Behind The Curtain” serves as the epilogue of the album. As vocalist Hunter Mowels puts it: “​​We wanted to wrap up the LP with a song that leaves you remembering what we’re all about. It’s to cement the fact that no matter how rough life is, what we’ve endured, how fucked up we are… you can’t crush us. It will never happen.”

Behind The Curtain is available now through DAZE and Triple B Records, and can be streamed below.

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

Classic NYHC meets NJHC style in new single from ZERO TRUST

Next Story

Pop punk rockers CF98 are back with new album “This Is Fine” – new single “Double Sunrise” streaming!