New Music

Hardcore fusionists EYES release video for debut album title track ‘Underperformer’

2 mins read

Danish hardcore fusionists EYES (introduced on IDIOTEQ in May 2018) is nearing the release of the band’s first album ‘Underperformer’ on September 25th 2020. Last month, the first single ‘Distance’ was released alongside an unusual, simple yet entertaining video, and this coming Friday August 7th, EYES will release the album’s title track as the second single. The song is available today, as the band releases a music video for the track, and the clip does not fall behind the first video in terms of twisted imagery through high polished aesthetics. The video is done 100% DIY by the band themselves, and elaborates on the song’s and album’s main theme of falling behind in adult life. EYES lead singer Victor Kaas says about ‘Underperformer’:

“When we finished writing ‘Underperformer’ we knew right away that it was going to be the title track of the album. The song is the ultimate culmination of the dogmas we had set for ourselves in the songwriting process; heavy grooves, chaotic parts and a catchy hook. The song is about a period in my life where I kept disappointing myself. Procrastination were the norm rather than the exception. I felt stuck and like I never grew, but still I told myself that everything was fine. That I was always busy with a packed calendar and didn’t have time to do the things I wanted. What I was really busy with was wasting my life and nurturing an addiction.”

EYES is made up by five young veterans from the Danish metal and hardcore scene, and ‘Underperformer’ reflects a combo, that does not worry one bit about what fans, scene or people in general might think. One senses an artistic kinship with bands such as Daughters, Pissed Jeans and Converge – all bands who started out with a particular sound and have changed and developed their musical vision significantly; something EYES aims for as well – and succeeds in.

EYES formed in 2017, and after a hefty initial time as a band with a hyped debut 2018 EP and a series of explosive shows in Denmark and Europe, the urge to redirect themselves arose, as new songs began to take shape. The band quickly decided to make a shift from the debut’s “blackened” expression towards a more punk rocking and experimental sound with focus on grooves and hooks – a less “brutal”, more minimalistic aesthetic and an underplayed expression in both auditive, lyrical and visual aspects.

This has resulted in ‘Underperformer’ and its ten songs showcasing a unique talent for injecting new life into hardcore with a disregardful (mis)use of the genres many strains and traits through a focused, original songwriting. In its essence, ‘Underperformer’ is a narrative about becoming an adult and having a hard time adjusting to the role it implies. About feeling discontent with one self and where one is in life; Feeling like you’re always busy and have your hands full, but never actually accomplishing anything – feeling like an ‘Underperformer’.

‘Underperformer’ is produced by Tobias Munk Tønder (Église, Drukner), mastered by Jacob Bredahl (Lifesick, I Am Bones) – who also contributes guest vocals on the record – and Jon Gotlev/No Heroes has created the notable artwork. The album will be released September 25th 2020 on vinyl (400 black and 100 white copies), tape (100 copies) and digital formats and physical versions are up for pre-ordering via Indisciplinarian HERE.

‘Underperformer’ Tracklisting:

1. Verge
2. Distance
3. Underperformer
4. Choke
5. Surf
6. Off
7. Voiceswhispersecretsandspeakonlytruths
8. Swim
9. Victim
10. Crutches

Previous Story

DEAFKIDS & PETBRICK streaming entire Deafbrick Collaborative LP

Next Story

LA based darkwave band ASHRR premiere new moody post punk single & video “Waves”