Higher Power
New Music

Leeds thrash hardcore act HIGHER POWER premieres new track

1 min read

Leeds, UK-based HIGHER POWER advances their impending debut LP, Soul Structure – set for release through Flatspot Records/Venn Records in May — with an exclusive Metal Hammer premiere of “Balance.” Bursting with old-school NYHC groove and West Coast crossover, HIGHER POWER’s Soul Structure LP is about positive expression of aggression and a form of escapology. It is angry music – but lyrically they convey a lot about themselves as people. It’s about finding a positive outlet for their anger, whether it’s social issues or mental health, it’s adding a social consciousness and depth to what traditionally is quite a one-dimensional genre of music. The album was recorded by Misha Hering at Holy Mountain, with vocals recorded by James Atkinson at Mutiny Studios. The album was mixed by Arthur Rizk at Salomons Gate (Power Trip, Mizery, War Hungry) and mastered by Joel Grind (Toxic Holocaust), and features artwork by Sam Bailey.

HIGHER POWER will release Soul Structure via Flatspot Records, with Venn Records handling the album in the UK, on May 19th. Preorders for the LP and the “Can’t Relate”/ “Fake Mantra” cassette single are now available HERE.


HIGHER POWER continues to tour in advance of the LP’s release. April 11th through 16th will see the band playing alongside Terror on a tour of Germany and Belgium, and performing at Outbreak Fest in their hometown of Leeds. Other upcoming shows see the band supporting Trapped Under Ice and more, with many more tour dates to be announced. See a full list of currently confirmed tour dates below.

4/11/2017 Z-Bau – Nürnberg, DE w/ Terror
4/12/2017 Bastard Club – Osnabrück, DE w/ Terror
4/13/2017 Die Stadtmitte – Karlsruhe, DE w/ Terror
4/14/2017 Music-O-Drome – Hasselt, BE
4/15/2017 Faust – Hannover, DE w/ Terror
4/16/2017 Bahnhof Langendreer – Bochum, DE w/ Terror
4/29-30/2017 Outbreak Fest – Leeds, UK
5/15/2017 The Star & Garter – Manchester, UK w/ Fire & Ice
6/17/2017 Essigfabrik – Cologne, DE w/ Trapped Under Ice



Previous Story

NYHC pack INCENDIARY release new song “The Product Is You”; new album out on May 5th!

Next Story

Finnish thrash hardcore punks FORESEEN release new single “Fearmonger”