New Music

Melodic punk rockers NECKSCARS teasing new anthemic album with nw single & video “Jarring”

1 min read

NECKSCARS are a new outfit from Downstate New York that play a blend of rock and melodic punk with a gravelly vocal delivery. The band spent 2020 recording ten fiery, anthemic tracks that make up their debut album, Don’t Panic. Teaming up with Sell the Heart Records (US) and Engineer Records (UK), Neckscars will release Don’t Panic on June 18th. Your first glimpse into the album is a track titled “Jarring” which is a fist-pumping number about improving your health. You can watch the music video for “Jarring” now at BrooklynVegan.

The song will be available on digital platforms on Friday, May 14th. In addition to the music video, both Sell the Heart Records (US) and Engineer Records (UK) have launched physical preorders for Don’t Panic.

Formed in Downstate, New York in late 2018, Neckscars are Will Romeo (Vox/Guitar), Justin Parish (Guitar/Vox), Colin Harte (Bass), and Craig Sala (Drums). Over the past two decades the members have been cutting their teeth in the DIY scene and have gathered to form this expansive collaboration. Without any specific stylistic direction in mind, they were determined to write a diverse collection of songs which proved to be an enjoyable process. The result was a classic punk rock and roll sound that doesn’t lean too hard on nostalgia and standard formulas. You can hear them echo influences ranging from Seaweed to Dead Boys as they embrace their unbridled enthusiasm.

In March of 2020, Neckscars entered Nada Studios in Montgomery, New York with Producer John Naclerio and Sean-Paul Pillsworth for their first full-length recording. Ripping through 8 songs in just three days, the session came to halt in response to the Covid-19 Global Pandemic. The band returned in the fall to tie up loose ends and bring another two songs to the table. Completed with a mastering by Jesse Cannon, Neckscars will be releasing their debut album Don’t Panic in the summer of 2021.

FFO: Hot Water Music, Nothington, Leatherface, Seaweed, Face to Face

Album Credits:

Will Romeo: Vocals & Guitar
Justin Parish: Guitar & Vocals
Colin Harte: Bass, Acoustic, and 12 String Guitar
Craig Sala: Drums, Vocals, Keys

Recorded by John Naclerio and Sean-Paul Pillsworth at Nada Recording Studios.
Mastered by Jesse Cannon at Found Soundation.

Previous Story

MODEST MOUSE return with first new album in 6 years; new single ‘We Are Between’ streaming

Next Story

A Discography of Mediocre Punk Rock (2009-2012) – Lancaster emo band BOYFRIENDS premiere new collection release!