Please go to your post editor > Post Settings > Post Formats tab below your editor to enter audio URL.

OFF! release new song!

1 min read

OFF! will release their new album “Wasted Years” on April 8th through Vice Records. Check out a new track called “Void You Out”!


OFF! are getting faster, harder, fiercer and scarier. It’s not surprising, considering their pedigree; the punk supergroup is comprised of Dimitri Coats of Burning Brides, Steven Shane McDonald of Redd Kross, Mario Rubalcaba of Earthless and none other than Keith Morris, founding vocalist for the great Black Flag.

On OFF!’s first two albums, they bashed out three-chord songs anchored in Morris’ deliciously manic delivery. Now, they have released “Void You Out,” the first single from their upcoming third album, Wasted Years – and it finds the band adopting that same formula with a meaner, nastier bite.

An atonal screech opens the track before Coats drops down, slamming out a brutish riff. Morris jumps in, alternates between ranting and screaming with a cadence not dissimilar to Charles Manson’s. During its 70-second running time, the song grows more unhinged as Coats slips in a nine-second solo and Morris attacks cultural superiority.

The song pulls its anger from misleading historical revisionism, as Morris tells Rolling Stone. “Who was here first? A bunch of uptight, always-right Caucasians with their heads buried up each other’s asses, trying to tell the rest of us how North American history went down and is going to be changed because of their intelligence or lack thereof. Thus: ‘Void You Out!'” / Rolling Stone

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

JOHNNY BOOTH premieres “Passages”

Next Story

SICK OF IT ALL working on new songs [UPDATE]