New Music

ANBERLIN release Convinced EP on Equal Vision Records – touring with Yellowcard this summer

1 min read
Anberlin by Camila Camacho
Anberlin by Camila Camacho

Anberlin’s latest EP, “Convinced,” has been released today under Equal Vision Records. Building upon their previous release, “Silverline,” the band expands their sonic palette in “Convinced.” Blending high-powered alternative rock with new wave influences, the EP showcases a juxtaposition of light and dark moods.

The opening track and lead single, “Lacerate,” exemplifies Anberlin’s powerful sound, characterized by thick guitars, pulsating drums, and electronic elements.

Throughout the EP, lead vocalist Stephen Christian’s soaring vocals serve as a reminder of the band’s appeal, harking back to their mid-2000s hits like “Feel Good Drag” and “Paperthin Hymn.” “Decoder” follows in the rock-forward footsteps of “Lacerate” with its infectious chorus, while “Banshee” embraces a more pop-driven sound.

Animals” stands out as one of the band’s most ambitious tracks, starting slowly and gorgeously before building into a heavy blend of synths and guitars, showcasing both rage and passion in the rhythm and vocals. The EP concludes with the lush and introspective 7-minute track, “Nothing More,” a captivating love song that gently fades out with calming piano waves.

Self-produced by the band at Feral Sound Studios in Tampa, FL, with assistance from Tim McTague (of Underoath), Chad Carouthers, and JJ Revell, “Convinced” quickly sold out on vinyl upon its announcement, with a second pressing expected. The EP is now available for streaming.

Anberlin will embark on a tour supporting Yellowcard in July and has several planned festival appearances lined up, including Capulet Fest in Connecticut, Iowa Is For Lovers festival in August, and Furnace Fest in September. The band’s lineup consists of Stephen Christian on vocals, Nate Young on drums, Deon Rexroat on bass, Joey Milligan on guitar, and Christian McAlhaney on guitar.

Tour Dates:

7/2 – Thompson, CT @ Capulet Fest

w/ Yellowcard

7/27 – Irving, TX @ The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory
7/29 – Phoenix, AZ @ Arizona Financial Theatre
7/30 – Los Angeles, CA @ YouTube Theater
8/01 – San Diego, CA @ Petco Park – Gallagher Square
8/02 – San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
8/04 – Seattle, WA @ WAMU Theater
8/06 – Salt Lake City, UT @ USANA Amphitheatre
8/08 – Denver, CO @ Levitt Pavilion Denver

8/20 – Council Bluffs, IA @ Iowa is For Lovers Fest
9/22 – Birmingham, AL @ Furnace Fest

Formed in 2002, Anberlin gained recognition with their debut album “Blueprints for the Black Market” and the hit single “Readyfuels.”

They continued their success with the release of “Never Take Friendship Personal” in 2005, which received extensive airplay on alternative radio. The band’s subsequent albums, such as “Cities” in 2007 and “New Surrender” in 2008, solidified their position in the major label scene.

The breakthrough single “Feel Good Drag” garnered immense popularity, with over 113 million plays on Spotify alone. After announcing their breakup in 2014, Anberlin released their final studio album, “Lowborn,” and embarked on an extensive farewell tour.

The band reunited in December 2018 and has since delighted fans with energetic performances and new music.

Subscribe to our Newsletter for featured stories alerts and weekly wrap-ups:

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

LOMA PRIETA streaming new album “Last” – US dates coming up

Next Story

Australian beatdown metalcore beast SEDATIVE share shattering new single “Ain’t No Love”