Infera Bruo
New Music

Blackened metallers INFERA BRUO breakdown new opus “Rites of the Nameless” track by track

3 mins read

Two short years after the release of Cerement, INFERA BRUO returns with Rites of the Nameless (Prosthetic Records); a six part subterranean odyssey through modern blackened metal. The transformative powers of those intervening years have elicited an evolution in INFERA BRUO, captured in equal parts aggressive and melodic form here on their new album. Today, we’re giving you a special track by track commentary, delivered by the band’s vocalist and guitarist Galen Baudhuin himself.

Threads of that ritualistic transformation are woven throughout the fabric of the album, embedded in the roots of the ensemble’s creative vision. Calling upon the occult and the power of magick to affirm their path forwards has resulted in a bold collection of songs that bristle with defiance and aggression, with subtle nods to classic metal and progressive rock.

The lyrics centre around inner turmoil and self reflection; their empirical nature retains an opaque mystery, resulting in a quality of other-worldliness that is evident throughout. The title refers to ancient unnamed societies, and the rites invoked to transform both the spirit and the flesh. The notion of ritualistic alchemy and metamorphic rites of passage have been utilised as a metaphor for personal change,

Produced, engineered and mixed by INFERA BRUO’s own Galen Baudhuin, and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege, Rites of the Nameless is a distinctive beast. Eschewing the lo-fi production of black metal’s Scandinavian origins, and shying away from the pristine polish often found in later subscribers of the genre, the intention was to create an honest representation of the band in its rawest form.

A foreboding atmosphere ripples throughout Rites of the Nameless, converging with a primordial energy that makes each missive both essential and thought provoking. The meditative nature of the album allows room for rumination on the cyclical nature of death, rebirth and everything in between; freedom to escape the day-to-day.

Rites of the Nameless is available via Prosthetic Records. INFERA BRUO is: Chris Danecek (bass), Robin Amos (synthesizer/keyboards), Galen Baudhuin (guitar/vocals), Alex Fewell (drums)

1. The Breath of Chaos:

We wanted to start the album with a surge of energy. It has some very aggressive riffs, but also gives way to more explorative elements as it evolves.

This is a first for the band, in that the music was co-written. Usually one person will write the music in isolation. Chris came up with the middle section which pulls things back before returning to the themes earlier explored. Also, note the killer bass lead on the outro.

2. Latent Foe Arcane:

This was the first piece of music that was written for the album, I wanted to expand on what we’d started with Cerement (the previous album). Having subtle complexities hidden within seemingly simple parts. Everything is glued together by the main melody and sort of moves around it. Chris wrote the lyrics for this.

3. Frayed:

Frayed was written entirely by Chris Danecek and features what I consider to be some of his best work lyrically. Because of that, I was super inspired when I was doing the vocals on this. I tried to channel my inner Tomas Lindberg in a few spots.

Continued below…

Infera Bruo

4. Cimmerian Shade:

This is a very personal one for me. Lyrically it’s a metaphor for depression and suicide. In our society it seems like people are afraid to talk about these topics head on. Depression is a lifelong battle for most people. It works in cycles, but will always be right there under the surface.
Musically Cimmerian Shade has doom elements as well as some folky black metal moments. Also, this song was partially composed on keyboard which is very different for us. It has some really dark synth textures courtesy of Robin Amos.

5. Mining Shadows For Unlight:

Mining Shadows For Unlight is a return to the pace started at the beginning of the album. It was the final song written and went through a lot of changes. At its core it’s a simple rock and roll song, though it had to be chiseled away from it’s long, epic origins. Alex killed the drums on this. A great mix of precise blasts and almost tribal tom work.
The lyrics refer to the process of creating life through alchemical means and the repercussions therein.

6. Rites of The Nameless:

The culmination of the album. It was obvious early on that this would be the final song. Definitely headbang-able. Our classic metal/hard rock influences come through in this piece, balanced with more blackened aggression.

Previous Story

If Henry Rollins was in the Pet Shop Boys but with live drums and even gayer lyrics… Introducing: BELTED SWEATER!

Next Story

REFUSED announce The Malignant Fire EP