Music Videos

Emo pop band THOUSAND BELOW release new video for chemical (feat. Sumner Peterson)

1 min read

During the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, THOUSAND BELOW, described as a “post-hardcore slamdown band” by their hometown paper The San Diego Reader, used their time in quarantine wisely. The band recorded “Let Go Of Your Love“, a stripped down EP featuring acoustic versions of four songs from their sophomore album, 2019’s “Gone In Your Wake”. The EP also features a brand new song, which is the title track. It’s being released by Rise Records. The EP is available today.

“We had the idea to do an acoustic/remix EP for a while, and with everyone stuck in lockdown, it seemed like the perfect time to do it” the band shares. “We all recorded our parts at home in San Diego, and got our good friend Sumner from the band Dead Lakes to add a new spin on the remix of ‘chemical.’ We liked the idea of doing a couple songs that were just acoustic guitar and singing, and a couple that were fully electronic to explore that side of the sound we added on Gone In Your Wake”.

The band has just shared the video for the reimagined version of “chemical.” Watch it here.

“When we wrote the original version of ‘chemical,’ it was one of the first songs we built from scratch with electronic instruments and production instead of coming up with guitar parts and adding the production after,” says bassist Josh Billimoria. “This version takes that idea even farther and strips out all the guitars completely. I spent the first few weeks of quarantine just messing around with sounds and trying to put a new spin on the song but still keep the same vibe.”

He finishes, “We got our good friend Sumner Peterson from the band Dead Lakes to sing on the bridge since we absolutely love his voice and the emotion he brings to every track. He even wrote a totally new part for the bridge that takes the song to a whole new level.”

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

SHIFTING premiere brilliant noise-rock opus “It Was Good”; new video & interview available!

Next Story

BE WELL (members of Battery, Bane, Darkest Hour, Fairweather & more) premiere new heartfelt song & video “Magic”