Fucked Up by John Londono
News Stories

FUCKED UP To Release Year Of The Horse On Limited-Edition Vinyl Via Tankcrimes This August

1 min read

Long-running Canadian hardcore/punk collective FUCKED UP will unleash their Year Of The Horse masterpiece — the next in their ongoing series celebrating the Chinese Zodiac — on limited-edition vinyl this Summer via Tankcrimes.

The follow-up to 2018’s critically lauded Dose Your Dreams full-length, FUCKED UP’s hugely ambitious Year Of The Horse is operatic in scope and artfully assembled offering up one track with a ninety-plus-minute runtime. The epic tone poem is spread across four sides that pass through the realms of metal, classical, ‘70s groove, and international hardcore punk to explore themes of motherhood, ecology, stewardship, and the deep myths of our civilization.

Recorded over the past few years by Alex Gamble in Toronto, who worked with the band on Dose Your Dreams, and mastered by Dan Randall at Mammoth Sound, Year Of The Horse includes guest appearances by Matt Berninger (The National), Julien Baker, Maegan Brooks Mills (Chubby And The Gang), and Tuka Mohammed and is dedicated to Power Trip’s Riley Gale and Iron Age’s Wade Allison, who passed away within weeks of each other last year.

Comments drummer Jonah Falco, “Year Of The Horse is ninety minutes of epic storytelling, hammering riffs, and filmic musical emotion, all wrapped in an infinity of multi-versed mind expanding depth. Cracks your brain up and glues it back together.”

FUCKED UP’s Year Of The Horse will be released on limited double LP and double CD as well as an edited version on one-sided, five-inch vinyl via Tankcrimes this August (final street date TBA).

Find preorders at THIS LOCATION. All preorders come with an instant download of the full track delivering on May 10th. Stream “Act One,” “Act Two,” and “Act Three” at FUCKED UP’s Bandcamp page HERE with “Act Four” to go live on Friday, May 7th.

FUCKED UP — Damian Abraham (vocals), Mike Haliechuk (guitars, vocals), Josh Zucker (guitar), Ben Cook (guitars, vocals), Sandy Miranda (bass), and Jonah Falco (drums, vocals) — is among the most prolific hardcore punk bands of our generation. Since their 2001 inception, they’ve challenged listeners with thoughtful artful chaos and a seemingly limitless drive for musical experimentation. Because of this, they’ve also become a record collector’s worst nightmare releasing over eighty recordings and collaborations on countless labels that include Deranged, Havoc, Tankcrimes, Deathwish, Matador, Jade Tree, and more. The band won the 2009 Polaris Music Prize for their second studio album, The Chemistry of Common Life among countless other accolades over the last two decades.

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

Post metallers AMENRA share new TOOL-esque video for “De Evenmens”, “De Doorn” coming up on Relapse Records!

Next Story

Ninety bands in total, thirty per day – the Furnace Fest is back!