New Music

GRAPHIC NATURE tackle depression in new track and music video “Headstone”

1 min read

Rising British metallers, GRAPHIC NATURE, known for their aggressive contemporary sound, one influenced by nu-metal and early 2000’s metalcore, have today released, ‘Headstone’, the latest single from their highly anticipated debut album, ‘a mind waiting to die’, released on February 17, 2023 via Rude Records.

Headstone is a track mainly about depression, and how our own mental health issues can lead us to using substances to just feel an ounce of normality,” explains vocalist Harvey Freeman. “Whether it’s prescribed to you or it’s an addiction of some other sort, it can change us in ways we’d often rather not talk about out loud.”

The lyrics were written at some of my lowest points and detail my frustration with how day to day life was spiralling downwards. Thankfully, I have been in a good headspace for a long time since. I’m just glad I got to put it in a song to raise awareness of the severity of what mental health issues can do to us as humans.”

Graphic Nature is Jack Bowdery (drums), Harvey Freeman (vocals), Matas Michailovskis (guitar), Pete Woolven (guitar) and Charlie Smith (bass).

Speaking of ‘a mind waiting to die’, Freeman says, “this is our debut album. We wrote the entirety of the record during lockdown when things were at their darkest. A lot of the lyrical content stems from personal experience and challenges with mental health and isolation.”

“Each song has a different subject, much like our previous tracks. We dive deep into depression, thoughts that lead you to a very dark place, frustration, sensory overload, anxiety, trauma, relationship issues etc. It’s a lot to take in and we’ve portrayed it in what we believe to be a perfect representation of how our heads process these things: pure anger over heavy riffs and drum beats. It’s what we do.”

Previous Story

LEIAH taps JENIFEREVER vocalist to produce a grand, emotional rock opus “Endless”

Next Story

Italian ska punk rockers TALCO break down new album “Videogame” track by track