Umbra Vitae
News Stories

Jacob Bannon (CONVERGE) starts new band UMBRA VITAE, feat. members of THE RED CHORD, JOB FOR A COWBOY and more!

1 min read

Extreme metal / death metal act UMBRA VITAE (feat. Jacob Bannon of Converge, Wear Your Wounds, Mike McKenzie of The Red Chord, Wear Your Wounds, Sean Martin of Twitching Tongues, Wear Your Wounds, ex-Hatebreed, Jon Rice of Uncle Acid & the Deadbeats, ex-Job for a Cowboy, and Greg Weeks (The Red Chord)) have released their crushing new track “Return to Zero“, coming from their debut record, Shadow of Life, slated for a May 1st via Deathwish Inc.!

Originally scheduled to come out later this year, Umbra Vitae “Shadow Of Life” will now be available digitally on May 1st with Vinyl, CD and Cassette coming later this year. Listen “Return To Zero” and pre-save now.”Shadow of Life” is the ten song debut album from Umbra Vitae, recorded and mixed by Kurt Ballou at God City Studios. Guitars and bass were recorded by Mike McKenzie at The Black Coast. The album was mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

Intro “Decadence Dissolves” is a Schuldiner-esque calm before the storm. “Ethereal Emptiness” and “Atheist Aesthetic” soon rip everything apart, methodically downshifting from blackened to brutal in tone. “Mantra of Madness” then emerges as a monster of a song, driven by inhuman drumming and traditional death metal riffing. This pattern of intensity continues in “Fear is a Fossil”, “Polluted Paradise”, and “Intimate Inferno”. All are motion sickness inducing numbers that violently lurch in aural agony. It’s here one realizes that this album never lets up.

“Return to Zero” takes it to another level, viciously grinding as the lines “Return to zero, bite down on the chain, bow down to no one” repeat as mantra.

This leads to “Blood Blossom” an amalgamation of metal ferocity and hardcore spirit that could very well be the heaviest track of them all. Infectious closer “Shadow of Life” then screams in terror as it tells the tale of the internal battle of the dark and light within us all.


Jacob Bannon: Vocals, Lyrics
Mike McKenzie: Guitars, Vocals
Sean Martin: Guitars, Vocals
Greg Weeks: Bass
Jon Rice: Drums

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

NY screamo act ON THE MIGHT OF PRINCES share unreleased track

Next Story

CRO-MAGS release new song “The Final Test”; new LP out in June!