New Music

“Drone Before Parlor Violence” – JEROMES DREAM drop new track!

2 mins read

After premiering a new single “Cataracts So Far” some 2 weeks ago, legendary screamo patrons JEROMES DREAM have released the second single off their upcoming untitled LP, their first new album since 2001’s “Presents”! The new track is called “Drone Before Parlor Violence” and shows the band entering a slightly different territories than their previous offerings, touching on post rockish soundscapes and new school, more melodic screamo sound. The new outing will be available on July 19th via their own Microspy label.


Fog of breath from a sick dog
An empty brain won’t sleep tonight
Feel us feel free
Nothing new left without
Help us stay as sterile as sand as face drags down a cracked runway
To know the end and then again to know the end and when
we’re all in touch with all reason
We feed the light until our dead skin blows apart with all (its) frantic glee
In a rowed collage (an) explosion of gore we leave from now

Jeromes Dream was born in 1997 as a result of personal uncertainty, instability, loss, and rage. Jeff Smith (bass, vocals) Nick Antonopoulos (guitar), and Erik Ratensperger (drums) created an aural violence in their dynamic and unpredictable songs. At that time, bands like Orchid, Reversal of Man and Pageninetynine were making similarly polemic music. But JD carved its own path and helped to define the subgenre that would come to be known as emo-violence.

The band set itself apart with an enigmatic and visceral approach to hardcore that was markedly different from the other music of its day, culminating in the release of their last record, Presents, in 2001. That same year, JD hung it up and moved on to pursue other personal projects, and after 17 years, the three friends gravitated back toward the shared belief that JD was a sacred space for them to wholly express themselves.

Fast forward to 2018 when Jeromes Dream announced that they would reunite and write a new record together, despite now living on opposite coasts of the US. The response was overwhelming, with fans from all over the world hailing the reunion. In March 2019 the band entered the studio with Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Gouge Away, Loma Prieta, Joyce Manor) and created a 12-song untitled LP (to be released on their own label, Microspy, founded by Ratensperger) that forges new creative directions, with expanded lyrical content and the compositional maturity that only experience, tragedy, and introspection can usher forth.

Gone are the youthful jaunts of cynicism replete in earlier lyrical content. JD now mine the depths of a pancultural void of empathy and acceptance. JD attempts to reconcile self-interest/awareness with a pervasive inability to affect the global edifices that dominate and influence our every decision.

The band seems to have spliced the threads of time from 2001 to 2019 creating a straight line with no stylistic derivations or missteps. The songs and performances evoke a band that never stopped working and writing together. Moments of clarity and serenity that poked stubbornly through the surface on past albums are now further realized and given sarcous life and the dynamism of Jeromes Dream is more powerful, raw, and sincere than ever before.

Previous Story

“I See Demons” – Burlington hardcore band THE PATH drops new razor-sharp track!

Next Story

Refuse Records’ fresh hardcore delivery: WARXGAMES, NO-HEADS, EAT MY FEAR, Warsaw’s Burning vol. 2