Music Videos

Mathcore trio PUPIL SLICER share new video for “Collective Unconscious”; tour dates coming up

2 mins read

PUPIL SLICER are today premiering a new music video for their track, Collective Unconscious, via Knotfest. The six and a half minute missive is taken from the band’s debut full length, Mirrors, released in March of this year via Prosthetic Records.

Collective Unconscious is available as a digital single featuring live versions of Mirrors Are More Fun Than Television and a cover of Converge’s Concubine as b-sides. The highly stylized visual, produced by Cineoteric Films, depicts the band performing within a theatre alongside choreographed dance and performance by Liam Hill – tying together Collective Unconscious’ lyrical narrative.

PUPIL SLICER recently announced February 2022 European and UK tour dates, in support of Rolo Tomassi.

Speaking on the premiere, Kate Davies (vocals / guitar) comments: “The song is about coming to terms with being trans and the amount of vitriol and unconscious bias in society around it, as well as my own internalised transphobia. Basically, after realising I was trans there wasn’t any way to un-learn that fact, so there was only one option: going forward despite knowing how hard things could be.

The idea of the majority of society being conditioned from birth to laugh at and dismiss everything about trans people, and there being no willingness to learn about struggles or to try to help. The way most media paints trans people is as sexual predators, just plain delusional or a threat to everyone around them. A way of coping became dissociation; disconnecting from what people say and how you feel, so that the negativity can’t affect you as much, distancing yourself from your own feelings as much as you can so that you don’t feel anything either way.”

Alongside the video premiere, PUPIL SLICER will also be appearing on the Knotfest Daily Show at 4pm ET / 1pm PT / 9pm BST – tune into the Twitch channel here.

PUPIL SLICER by Gobinder Jhitta
PUPIL SLICER by Gobinder Jhitta

PUPIL SLICER’s Mirrors captures the frenetic energy that propels the band forward, making their snarling blend of mathcore, grindcore, death metal and more a truly essential listen. Garnering critical praise upon release, Mirrors debuted on the US Billboard Charts in March of this year and the band have since performed exclusive sets for both Knotfest and Mathcore Index – ahead of a planned 13 date European and UK tour alongside Rolo Tomassi in early 2022.

Praise for Mirrors:

“There’s a raft of exciting and innovative bands coming from the UK right now. PUPIL SLICER are on par with all of them.” – Metal Hammer UK

“Davies is such a consistently commanding presence that Mirrors is vastly more immersive and absorbing than any record this fast, furious and fucked up has any right to be.” – Blabbermouth

“Overall, Mirrors is nothing short of incredible. It’s up there with the likes of Vein, End and Fawn Limbs as one of the best and most visceral debuts of recent years.” – Distorted Sound

“PUPIL SLICER’s debut album is a panic-stricken purging of mental anguish, carried out by a blast of cacophonous instrumentation. So in other words, this album rules.” – New Noise

Upcoming PUPIL SLICER tour dates:

6 February – Record Junkee – Sheffield, UK

2022: European tour w/ Rolo Tomassi

10 February – Trix – Antwerp, Belgium
11 February – Péniche Antipode – Paris, France
12 February – Complexity Fest – Haarlem, Netherlands
14 February – Cassiopeia – Berlin, Germany
15 February – Strahov 007 – Prague, Czech Republic
16 February – A38 – Budapest, Hungary
17 February – Arena – Vienna, Austria
18 February – Feierwerk – Munich, Germany
19 February – MTC – Cologne, Germany
21 February – Rescue Rooms – Nottingham, UK
22 February – Club Academy – Manchester, UK
23 February – Fleece – Bristol, UK
24 February – Oval Space – London, UK

23 – 24 April – StrangeForms Festival – Brudenell Social Club – Leeds, UK

Previous Story

Eclectic alternative hip-hop band OXYMORRONS share new video for “Definition”

Next Story

Nashville metal/hardcore beast ORTHODOX shares new crushing single “Body & Soul”, inks a deal with Century Media