News Stories

PLACEBO Celebrates 20 Years with a new release on Rise Records

4 mins read

You might be surprised what bands show up here on IDIOTEQ, but this one right here has helped shape many of our readers’ tastes and approaches to rock music, especially in its early era from the edge of the 90s and 00s. So, the news is that Rise Records (7 SECONDS, THE BOUNCING SOULS, HOT WATER MUSIC, POISON THE WELL) has just added PLACEBO to their roster and is ready to kick things off with a limited edition 20-year retrospective release A Place For Us To Dream. Due out October 7th, the deluxe vinyl (in pink and black), double CD and digital release includes hits that span the groundbreaking act’s incredibly successful two decades such as early favorites “Bruise Pristine,” “Come Home,” and “Teenage Angst’, to career defining singles “Nancy Boy,” “Every You Every Me,” “Pure Morning,” and “The Bitter End” as well as their incredible cover of Kate Bush’s “Running Up That Hill” and “Meds” – a duet with The Kills’ Alison Mosshart. The physical formats of A Place For Us To Dream include a special book that contains never-before-seen photos from the past 20 years, all hand selected by Brian Molko and Stefan Olsdal from their personal archives.

PLACEBO covers

In addition, the album includes the stunning new single “Jesus’ Son,” which drops on September 1st and will also be featured on the Life’s What You Make It EP.  Placebo decided to release this six song EP to coincide with the 20 year retrospective.  The EP consists of six previous unreleased recordings including the new single and a cover of the Talk Talk classic “Life’s What You Make It.”  All the tracks were produced by Adam Noble (Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Paul McCartney, Basement Jaxx), who was at the helm for the band’s acclaimed seventh studio album Loud Like LoveLife’s What You Make It will be available on 12” vinyl (Springtime Green or Black) as well as digitally.

It all began in 1996 for Placebo when they released their critically acclaimed self-titled debut album, which helped pave the way for a strong shift in British music, acting as an antithesis to Britpop and inspiring a generation of bands to follow them.  Since then the UK act has gone on to sell more than 12 million records worldwide, has been certified gold and platinum in more than 30 countries and had 6 top ten albums in the UK.  In addition, they’ve toured and headlined festivals in more than 70 countries and six continents cementing their reputation for incendiary live shows.

Placebo remain one of the world’s biggest alternative rock bands of the last 20 years and it seems only fitting for them to celebrate the past two decades with a retrospective release that includes their hits, as well as their collaborations with such iconic artists as David Bowie and Michael Stipe.  Look for A Place For Us To Dream on October 7th as well as the Life’s What You Make It EP and be sure to grab new single “Jesus’ Son” on September 2nd!  Complete track-listings and configurations below.



Vinyl 1
A1. Pure Morning (Radio Edit)
A2. Jesus’ Son (Radio Edit)
A3. Come Home
A4. Every You Every Me (Single Version)

B1. Too Many Friends
B2. Nancy Boy (Radio Edit)
B3. 36 Degrees (Version 2016)
B4. Taste In Men (Radio Edit)
B5. The Bitter End

Vinyl 2
A1. Without You I’m Nothing (feat. David Bowie)
A2. English Summer Rain (Single Verison)
A3. Breathe Underwater (Slow)
A4. Soulmates

B1. Meds (feat. Alison Mosshart)
B2. Bright Lights (Single Version)
B3. Song To Say Goodbye (Radio Edit)
B4. Infra-Red
B5. Running Up That Hill


Vinyl 3
A1. B3 (Radio Edit)
A2. For What It’s Worth
A3. Teenage Angst
A4. You Don’t Care About Us (Radio Edit)
A5. Ashtray Heart

B1. Broken Promise (feat. Michael Stipe)
B2. Slave To The Wage (Radio Edit)
B3. Bruise Pristine (Radio Edit)
B4. This Picture
B5. Protégé Moi

Vinyl 4
A1. Because I Want You (Redux Version)
A2. Black-Eyed
A3. Lazarus
A4. I Know (Version 2008)

B1. A Million Little Pieces (Radio Edit)
B2. Special Needs (Radio Edit)
B3. Special K
B4. Loud Like Love




CD 1
01. Pure Morning (Radio Edit)
02. Jesus’ Son (Radio Edit)
03. Come Home
04. Every You Every Me (Single version)
05. Too Many Friends
06. Nancy Boy (Radio Edit)
07. 36 Degrees (Version 2016)
08. Taste In Men (Radio Edit)
09. The Bitter End
10. Without You I’m Nothing (feat. David Bowie)
11. English Summer Rain (Single Version)
12. Breathe Underwater (Slow)
13. Soulmates
14. Meds (feat Alison Mosshart)
15. Bright Lights (Single Version)
16. Song To Say Goodbye (Radio Edit)
17. Infra-Red
18. Running Up That Hill

01. B3 (Radio Edit)
02. For What It’s Worth
03. Teenage Angst
04. You Don’t Care About Us (Radio Edit)
05. Ashtray Heart
06. Broken Promise (feat. Michael Stipe)
07. Slave To The Wage (Radio Edit)
08. Bruise Pristine (Radio Edit)
09. This Picture
10. Protégé Moi
11. Because I Want You (Redux)
12. Black-Eyed
13. Lazarus
14. I Know (Version 2008)
15. A Million Little Pieces (Radio Edit)
16. Special Needs (Radio Edit)
17. Special K
18. Loud Like Love




Pure Morning (Radio Edit)
Jesus’ Son (Radio Edit)
Come Home
Every You Every Me (Single Version)
Too Many Friends
Nancy Boy (Radio Edit)
36 Degrees (Version 2016)
Taste In Men (Radio Edit)
The Bitter End
Without You I’m Nothing (feat. David Bowie)
English Summer Rain (Single Verison)
Breathe Underwater (Slow)
Meds (feat. Alison Mosshart)
Bright Lights (Single Version)
Song To Say Goodbye (Radio Edit)
Running Up That Hill
B3 (Radio Edit)
For What It’s Worth
Teenage Angst
You Don’t Care About Us (Radio Edit)
Ashtray Heart
Broken Promise (feat. Michael Stipe)
Slave To The Wage (Radio Edit)
Bruise Pristine (Radio Edit)
This Picture
Protégé Moi
Because I Want You (Redux Version)
I Know (Version 2008) – INSTANT GRAT ON PRE-ORDER
A Million Little Pieces (Radio Edit)
Special Needs (Radio Edit)
Special K
Loud Like Love




Vinyl 1
A1. Life’s What You Make It
A2. Jesus’ Son
A3. Twenty Years (Live at Europavox Festival 2015)

Vinyl 2
B1. Autoluminescent
B2. Twenty Years (Piano Version Live at Evening Urgant, Moscow 2016)
B3. Song #6

Life’s What You Make It
Jesus’ Son
Twenty Years (Live at Europavox Festival 2015)
Twenty Years (Piano Version Live at Evening Urgant, Moscow 2016)
Song #6

PLACEBO 20th Anniversary tour dates:

13 Aarhus, Train
14 Copenhagen, Vega Main Hall
16 Oslo, Sentrum Scene
18 Stockholm, Cirkus
20 Helsinki, Hartwall Arena
22 Latvia, Riga Arena
24 St. Petersburg, New Arena
26 Moscow, Olimpiyskiy
29 Warsaw, Torwar
31 Hamburg, Barclaycard Arena

02 Cologne, Lanxess Arena
04 Munich, Olympiahalle
05 Leipzig, Arena
07 Berlin, Mercedes Benz Arena
08 Prague, Forum Karlin
10 Zagreb, Cibona Hall
11 Budapest, Sportarena
13 Vienna, Stadthalle
15 Milan, Mediolanum Forum
16 Zurich, Hallenstadion
18 Lille, Zenith
19 Antwerp, Sportpaleis
21 Amsterdam,, Ziggo Dome
23 Frankfurt, Festhalle
24 Stuttgart, Schleyerhalle
26 Amneville, Galaxie
28 Nantes, Zenith Metropole
29 Paris, Accorhotels Anera

02 Glasgow, SSE Hydro
03 Leeds, First Direct Arena
05 Manchester, Manchester Arena
06 Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena
08 Birmingham, Barclaycard Arena
10 Dublin, 3Arena
12 Newport, Newport Centre
14 Brighton, Brighton Centre
15 London, SSE Wembley Arena

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

MESHUGGAH announce new album “The Violent Sleep Of Reason“

Next Story

THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN may call it quits after new upcoming album