New Music

When Dredg goes silent, LONELY THE BRAVE echoes through

1 min read
Lonely The Brave

In an era where fans yearn for the unmistakable touch of Dredg’s new album, Lonely The Brave emerges as a beacon with their potent blend of progressive rock, post-hardcore, alt rock, and the evocative, intimate atmospheric undertones woven into their music.

Despite the comparison to Dredg, don’t be misled; this isn’t a slight but rather an emphasis on greatness. Lonely The Brave have their own unique take on the blend of these styles, shining through with their distinct style and signature sound.

Coming on the heels of ‘The Lens‘, ‘Victim‘, and ‘The Bear‘, the band recently unveiled their latest single, ‘Long Way‘. This track is a teaser of their impending fourth studio album, ‘What We Do To Feel’, slated for release on 10th November via Easy Life. This eagerly awaited album succeeds their 2021 release, ‘The Hope List‘.

In discussing the evolution and process of their newest album, guitarist Mark Trotter opined, “You can plan it out as much as you want, but you’re just along for the ride. With this album, we’ve matured, both as individuals and as a collective, especially considering the experiences we’ve gone through since our last release.”

The album is a candid reflection of “life’s more quietly spoken moments”, aiming to strike a balance between hope and hardship. Through their music, Lonely The Brave delves into the nuances of daily existence and encapsulates the essence of gratitude amidst adversity.

Jack Bennett, the band’s vocalist, provided insights on their single, ‘The Lens‘. He describes it as “a track about the way we value each other. Every individual has a distinct viewpoint, and this song celebrates these varied perspectives we have towards the world.”

The album, ‘What We Do To Feel‘, is set to be a diverse soundscape, with songs like ‘Victim’ presenting the pervasive feeling of the world being against you, while ‘The Bear’ is a contemplative narrative discussing the trepidation around losing a loved one.

Lonely The Brave

Mark Trotter further comments on the album’s theme, underscoring the importance of everyday moments. “It’s about the things we invest time in, the aspects that make us who we are. During the album’s creation, we were apart from each other for the first time. So, we decided to extract as much joy from those moments as possible and let the music shape itself.”

Anticipation is high for ‘What We Do To Feel’, and fans can get a taste of what’s to come by checking out the recently released tracks. Moreover, for those eager to witness the magic live, Lonely The Brave has announced a headline tour in February 2024, with Tom A Smith set to support.

7: Chalk, Brighton, UK
8: The Fleece, Bristol, UK
9: The Globe, Cardiff, UK
10: Garage, London, UK
14: Rescue Rooms, Nottingham, UK
15: SWG3, Glasgow, UK
16: Gorilla, Manchester, UK
17: Cluny, Newcastle, UK
29: J2, Cambridge, UK

Subscribe to our Newsletter for featured stories alerts and more:

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

CRIME IN STEREO share another solid single “Goliathette” – new comeback album approaching

Next Story

CROSSING I’s DOTTING T’s premieres new grungy rock track “Far Away” – watch new video