Music Videos

CAPSIZE – “XX (Sew My Eyes)” video

1 min read

Melodic post-hardcore quartet CAPSIZE will release album ‘A Reintroduction: The Essence Of All That Surrounds Me’ via Rude Records on 22nd July 2016. The Southern Californians have also unveiled lead single ‘XX (I Sew My Eyes)’ and its jarring video, which can be seen below. Discussing the LP, vocalist Daniel Wand states “For this album, I wanted to write lyrics that I felt like I needed to hear, or would have liked to have heard at certain times in my life that I have only just recently worked through enough to put into words. The title represents what the album does for the band, and me personally. It’s a reintroduction of who we are as a band, in reference to the things that have led to this point in my life.”

With a reputation for grafting on the road, Capsize have just rounded off a European tour with hardcore miserablists Landscapes and are soon to grace the stage at the infamous Warped Tour in the US. ‘A Reintroduction…’ sees the quartet, completed by Andrew Tamayo on drums and guitarists Ryan Knowles and Nicolas Lopez, follow up on their well-received debut album ‘The Angst In My Veins’ with a more distinctly post-hardcore sound. Now incorporating clean vocals throughout, their melodies soar; driving levels of intensity and aggression make way for haunting ambience, all the while interspersed with their signature darkness. Recorded in Atlanta, GA at Glow In The Dark Studios with producer Matt McClellan (The Devil Wears Prada, Being As An Ocean), ‘A Reintroduction…’ pushes the band into new musical territory, while remaining true to their roots.

With the album lyrically exploring personal demons and vulnerability, as well as love and loss, Wand reveals that the single ‘XX (I Sew My Eyes)’ is: “about the idea of wanting to move on from a moment, person or cycle in life, but feeling like your actions that leave you unexplainably content in discomfort make up who you are, and battling that in your head… the fear that you can’t change fast enough in your own eyes.” Wand concludes: “This record does more for me and my self-worth than anything I’ve ever touched before. Right before going into the studio, I told one of my best friends that the most important thing about this record was that it needed to be something that if I heard when I was at my most impressionable point, it would’ve made me desperate to make a band. I think if I had this record when I was growing up it would’ve led me to exactly where I am today.”

‘A Reintroduction: The Essence Of All That Surrounds Me’ Tracklisting:
1. XX (Sew My Eyes)
2. I Think It’s Best We Don’t Talk Anymore
3. Tear Me Apart
4. Favorite Secret
5. One Day I Won’t Be So Easy to Forget
6. Safe Place
7. Split My Soul
8. Over You
9. You Got the Wrong Idea
10. The Same Pain

Previous Story

PEARS – “Green Star” video released; massive tour happening now; vocalist unveils new solo track

Next Story

NAILS – “Savage Intolerance” video