New Music

CODESEVEN return with first album in 20 years – new single and video available

1 min read

The North Carolina-based group Codeseven is releasing their first album in two decades, titled “Go Let It In.” The album, which emerges from the influential era of the ‘90s and ‘00s, is being launched under the banner of the legendary Equal Vision Records.

The album, a compilation of 10 tracks, navigates the complexities of human emotions, encapsulating themes of love, confrontation, and justice. It promises to be a reflection of contemporary societal changes, viewed through the prism of empathy and personal growth, even addressing unique fears like entomophobia.

Coinciding with the album’s release is the debut of their new music video for the single “Rough Seas,” directed by Justin H. Reich. This music video symbolizes the band’s resurrection from a period of inactivity, portraying their journey from a metaphorical death to a vibrant revival. The single itself delves into the conflict between the yearning for social acceptance and the inclination towards solitude.

Codeseven, initially formed in Winston-Salem in 1995 by three brothers and their friends, quickly rose to prominence with their debut EP “Paper Or Plastic” and their acclaimed full-length album “A Sense of Coalition” in 1998. Their cover of Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer” was particularly instrumental in garnering them widespread attention.


The band’s experimentation with heavy yet melodious sounds continued with the release of the “Division of Labor” EP, which received high praise and featured in prominent magazines and on WWE’s Heat. Their final release before the hiatus, “The Rescue,” produced by Alex Newport, showcased an eclectic and experimental style, earning them tours with renowned bands and a broadening fan base.

After a hiatus, Codeseven returned with “Dancing Echoes / Dead Sounds” under Equal Vision Records, setting the stage for their latest comeback with “Go Let It In.” The album, a product of their classic DIY ethos, was recorded independently by the band members in their homes, with Jeremy Griffith co-producing and mixing. This approach has resulted in a set of songs that aim to surpass their past achievements.

Karol Kamiński

DIY rock music enthusiast and web-zine publisher from Warsaw, Poland. Supporting DIY ethics, local artists and promoting hardcore punk, rock, post rock and alternative music of all kinds via IDIOTEQ online channels.
Contact via [email protected]

Previous Story

Indie emo rocker Alex B. Kurbis shares new EP “never had a chance, mind.”

Next Story

An interview with noise garage rockers GASWAR (members of Hammerhead, Cows, Melvins and Tomahawk)